Halloween is my favorite holiday

2 Nov

When I was a little girl, we didn’t have much money.  More than anything I wanted a store bought Halloween costume.  The Tinkerbell costume with the plastic face mask that would get all sweaty and hot, I wanted that.  Actually, I wanted anything that could be bought at a store, but that was rarely the case.  Most of my clothes were hand me downs from my older cousins and my parents never took us out to eat – McDonald’s was a rare treat and not the cheap daily staple of most of my classmates.

In any case, my mother was two things:  1) mindful of the fact that most of the year her kids went without a lot of “extras” and 2) a fantastic seamstress.

My mother made all of our bathing suits, our Easter outfits, and a lot of our clothing.   So every Halloween we were allowed to pick one thing we wanted to be and my mother would get herself to the cloth store and make it happen.

My sisters were the really clever ones with their costumes, I always wanted to be something “cute” or “adorable.”  I so very much wanted to be the pretty sister, so I was very middle-of-the-road with my choices.  In other words I was the following:  Jeannie from I Dream of Jeannie; Madonna; Harem Girl; Tinkerbell, etc.  So boring, right?  My youngest sister was the following:  a cockaroach; the family dog, a Rottweiler; a skunk.   She’s the weird, cool one of the group, for sure.

As I get older I am less concerned with being “beautiful” or “cute” when I choose my Halloween costume.  If anything, I just want to make a statement.  And more than that, I want everyone around me to enjoy my costume and get a kick out of Halloween.

This year was no different.  Hubby let me throw a ridiculous Halloween Party and we went with the theme of Grimm’s Fairy Tales.  The front room was the “Castle,” and we transformed the hallway into the “Haunted Forest.”   And in keeping with my theme, my costume was the Evil Queen.

For the costume I pulled together several different costumes to create the dress, and adorned my tiara with red skulls, which looked like red apples upon first look.

As you can see, I am totally in the spirit of the holiday. 

We had a blast – our guests didn’t leave until almost 4 am, with some people crashing in the guest room.  In fact, our dog was exhausted for the next 48 hours which leaves me very tempted to throw another party this weekend just to tucker her out.

That is one tired pup!

The actual day of Halloween, I dressed up for an event at my office.   I wanted to do something fun and whimsical that would bring some laughs to the entire office.  Now think, what is the one thing that is always whimsical, funny and brings a smile?

The Muppets of course!  Specifically . . .

It was a great day, and I am going to quote my darling niece here when I say, “I wish Halloween was every day!”

One Response to “Halloween is my favorite holiday”

  1. Me November 2, 2012 at 8:28 pm #

    That cool weird sister of yours is awesome ! Lol very sweet we love Halloween , everyone should enjoy the fun of the imagination that Halloween allows!

Leave a Reply

