Tourist Attraction – Part 2

30 Aug

Apparently, Miami is the city that keeps on giving.

Today on my way in to work, the entertainment value – was spectacular.  And somewhat confusing.

As I drove under the highway towards my office, I noticed a homeless man in a dirty gray suit carrying a large sign.  But it wasn’t the sign that caught my eye – it was the ventriloquist dummy that was on his arm.  Unfortunately, I didn’t have the time to slow down and engage this intrepid peformer in a conversation or get a real good look at the sign but I have to say, at least he’s working for his money.

Or was the dummy petitioning for money and the bum merely hanging out with his friend?

And now I am left to wonder, did he tell jokes?  Does he proselytize about the end of the world? Is it a born again dummy?  I don’t know!

All day I’ve been thinking about the man and his puppet, and I have to say it’s rather ingenious. I mean, it must get pretty lonely out there on the streets, and unlike a dog, you don’t have to feed a puppet.  And I am pretty sure the puppet is a great listener, depending on the bum’s ventriloquist skills.  Maybe he’s pulled a Tom Hanks in Castaway, and the puppet is like his own volleyball/best friend. 

In any case, I don’t want to sound heartless and crass, but it really does cause someone to do a double take when you see a man dressed in an old dirty suit carrying a giant placard and a very sad looking ventriloquist dummy.

I mean, not for nothing, but Jeff Dunham may want to take note.  If he’s not careful and blows all his puppet cash on hookers and blow, it could be him shuffling through the Miami streets, mumbling and arguing with a dirty puppet. 

 

Leave a Reply

