Pen to Paper

3 Apr

Approval. The ultimate goal of the writer. Or the human experience for that matter. Most people I know or who I have met in my creative writing classes, say: I write for me, no one else. I call it hogwash. They want people to like them, to salivate over their words, slap them on the back and tell them how awesome they are. Artists are like that. We need people to love us, to approve of us, to tell us how wonderful we are. If we didn’t, there would be nobody auditioning for American Idol making a fool of themselves, stand up comics, vampire novels, or Picasso.
It may seem random to string all of these people together, but they are all artists. Is their work immortal? Maybe not, but it is art. And they all want/need/desire people to approve their work.
Question: is a painting a painting unless it is hanging on a wall? Part of me thinks not. The painting on the wall beckons the viewer to concentrate on it, to take in the visual and dissect it’s meaning. It becomes a part of the viewer, as they identify with what the artist may or may not have intended it to mean. So no matter whether the viewer is correct, it has made an impact. And that piece of art is successful.
I bring this up, becomes sometimes, as a writer, I am writing wondering if it is going to affect the reader. Will this impact them, will people like it, will people want to read it. Then I think,who cares?
I have several ideas for heroines in my stories. Also, a protagonist who is a young man. And I think, can I write from that perspective, when the truth of the matter is, who cares? Why not just write. Just write, put it on paper, go back and clean it up and see if it works.
I bet for every painting Picasso or Rembrandt started, there is one that he shredded into little bitty pieces. I cannot expect to sit down and just create a masterpiece, that would be folly.
What I can do is put in the work, which is what I intend to do.
Fiction. A genre that is slowly slipping into the dark recesses of literature as the memoir takes hold. I blame Facebook and reality tv. Memoirs are the reality tv and social media of literature. Honestly, nobody is that interesting. Except maybe David Sedaris, he can spin a yarn, although he is known to take liberties with his subjects and amplify them for comedic effect. To that I say, please do! I gladly applaud your efforts to entertain. Don’t limit it!
I am not that entertaining. I haven’t had a million jobs and I work with attorneys – snore. The only interesting thing in my life is my inability to communicate with my neighbors because of language barrier and that’s nothing interesting. So yeah, I’ll be making up lots and lots of stuff.
I guarantee you it’s more interesting. 😉

Leave a Reply

