How do you handle disappointment?

27 Feb

How do you handle disappointment?

Recently I found out I’d lost out on a pretty sweet gig, and the worst part is, I can’t really hate on the person who got that gig because as I understand it – they’re pretty awesome.  But still, it stings.  It stings bad!

But this emotional ouchie is really getting to me, and I’m trying to pull through by focusing on the things around me that make me feel better.  Here’s what I did:

1.  I left work about 20 minutes early yesterday so I wouldn’t have to fight traffic. Seriously, traffic is so bad it would normally bring me to tears, so that little bit of extra time really helped.

2.  I ate my sorrows away.  Seriously, I killed a half a bag of salt and pepper potato chips.  These chips are DA BOMB, and they were delicious!  Don’t judge me.

3.  I drank.  I did, I had a few brews.  By myself.  In my pajamas.  I did, I drank a few Peronis, in my pajamas on the couch with my doggie and just relaxed.  Don’t judge me.  😉

4.  I cuddled with my pup.  Does anything make you feel better than a face full of puppy kisses?  I know.  NOTHING DOES!

5.  I watched my favorite TV shows.  There are a few shows that ALWAYS make  me laugh, even on reruns.  These are the shows I watched last night that made me giggle:  How I Met Your Mother, Big Bang Theory and Cougar Town.  Giggles abounded.  My tears subsided.

6.  Cry and whine to your significant other about how horrible you feel and let them tell you how awesome you are.  (But don’t push your luck, you only get a 48 hour window of this self-pity/wallowing before they are allowed to tell you to get over it already.)

So this morning I woke up still disappointed, but mostly having moved past my blues so that I can start my day fresh as a daisy.  Okay, I’m still friggin bitter, but if you are stuck home alone with bad news, I recommend these few tips.

 

Leave a comment